CITY OF FRESNO

Office of Council President Annalisa Perea

- WHEREAS, Sexual assault, defined as any crime involving unwanted, forced, or coerced sexual contact, persists as a pervasive issue affecting individuals irrespective of gender or background; and
- WHEREAS, statistics reveal a distressing reality, with more than 1 in 3 women and nearly 1 in 4 men experiencing some form of sexual violence involving physical contact throughout their lives, with many incidents going unreported due to various fears and barriers; and
- WHEREAS, the fear of retaliation, shame, concerns about immigration status, or distrust of law enforcement often prevent survivors from seeking the support and justice they deserve; and
- WHEREAS, Centro La Familia Advocacy Services, Inc., a local community-based nonprofit, stands as a beacon of support, offering a comprehensive array of services tailored to victims of sexual assault, including assistance with reporting crimes, navigating the legal system, securing restraining orders, accessing humanitarian relief, and facilitating counseling referrals, among other invaluable resources; and
- WHEREAS, April 2024 marks Sexual Assault Awareness Month across the United States, offering a crucial opportunity to raise awareness, challenge stigmas, and foster a culture of support and empowerment for survivors; and
- WHEREAS, Centro La Familia Advocacy Services, recognized as a Culturally Specific Agency, plays a pivotal role in this endeavor, serving as a trusted ally and advocate for survivors within our community.
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that we, Council President Annalisa Perea, Mayor Jerry Dyer and the Fresno City Council do hereby proclaim April 2024 to be:

"Sexual Assault Awareness Month"

in the City of Fresno.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the seal of the City of Fresno, California, on this 4th day of April 2024.

JERRY P. DYER, Honorable Mayor	ANNALISA PEREA, Council President District 1
MIKE KARBASSI, Council Vice President District 2	MIGUEL ARIAS, Councilmember District 3
TYLER MAXWELL, Councilmember District 4	LUIS CHAVEZ, Councilmember District 5
GARRY BREDEFELD, Councilmember District 6	NELSON ESPARZA. Councilmember District 7