CITY OF FRESNO

Office of Mayor Jerry P. Dyer



WHEREAS, in 1934, Lloyd Fiese and Lowell Firstenberger began manufacturing products for local markets under the name Fiese & Firstenberger Manufacturing in Fresno; and

WHEREAS, Fiese & Firstenberger first began manufacturing vertical turbine type pumps in 1938 and continued manufacturing the pumps along with armaments in support of the Allied effort during World War II; and

WHEREAS, during the 1950's, Fiese & Firstenberger expanded its sales and marketing efforts outside of California, including purchasing A.O. Smith's Vertical Turbine Pump Division, a company that specialized in fuel transfer pumps; and

WHEREAS, in 1968, Lowell Firstenberger purchased the company from Lloyd Fiese and renamed it Floway Pumps; and

WHEREAS, Floway Pumps in the ensuing decades would be purchased by several different companies, first by Peabody International in 1975, when the trade name was changed to Peabody Floway Pumps; and

WHEREAS, in 1984, The Pullman Company purchased Peabody International and all its subsidiaries, which was then purchased by Forstmann Little Company in 1986; and

WHEREAS, in 1992, The WEIR GROUP PLC purchased Peabody Floway Pumps and Floway Pumps became the new trade name; and

WHEREAS, in 2019, Floway Pumps was acquired by First Reserve, and Floway® became the new trade name, ultimately becoming part of Trillium Flow TechnologiesTM; and

WHEREAS, Floway® has been doing business for 90 years in Fresno, nearly doubling in size over the past five years, employing more than 200 people, and recently completing an expansion of its facility. The City of Fresno recognizes Floway® for its longevity and outstanding service.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that we, Mayor Jerry Dyer and Members of the Fresno City Council, do hereby proclaim Thursday, November 21, 2024, to be:

"Floway Day"

In the City of Fresno.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the seal of the City of Fresno, California, this 21st day of November 2024.

JERRY P. DYER, Honorable Mayor	ANNALISA PEREA, Council President
MIKE KARBASSI, Council Vice President	MIGUEL ARIAS, Councilmember District 3
TYLER MAXWELL, Councilmember District 4	LUIS CHAVEZ, Councilmember District 5
GARRY RREDEEL D. Councilmember District 6	NELSON ESPARZA Councilmember District 7