CITY OF FRESNO

Office of Councilmember Nelson Esparza

Is hereby presented in honor of:

Small Business Week WHEREAS: Small businesses are the engine of the United States economy and the foundation of free and prosperous nation, built by men and women who work hard, take risks, and believe in the power of the American Dream; and Small businesses make up more than 99 percent of all private sector employers and create nearly WHEREAS: two out of every three new jobs in the United States, fueling opportunity and driving local economies across every corner of our country; and WHEREAS: Whether in our fields, on our factory floors, or at the frontiers of technology, small businesses are driving the innovation and building the products that keep our country strong, competitive, and secure; and WHEREAS: In recent years, small business owners have faced unprecedented challenges, from recovery of a once-in-a-century pandemic to record-high inflation, yet have remained resilient in their commitment to delivering for our communities; and WHEREAS: Despite these headwinds, the American spirit of enterprise endures, and we now stand at the threshold of a new era for small businesses, built on common sense, pro-growth policies that put our people, our workers, and our job creators first; and The City of Fresno shares widespread commitment to making it easier for our hard-working WHEREAS: entrepreneurs to get started and power our economy from the ground up; and WHEREAS: National Small Business Week has been proclaimed by the President of the United States since 1963, honoring the vital role of small businesses in creating jobs, growing the economy, and anchoring our communities. NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED: that we, Mayor Jerry P. Dyer, Councilmember Nelson Esparza, and the Fresno City Council, do hereby proclaim, the 4th-10th of May 2025, as: "Small Business Week"

in the City of Fresno. IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the Seal of The City of Fresno, California, on this $1^{\rm st}$ day of May 2025.

JERRY P. DYER, HONORABLE MAYOR	NELSON ESPARZA, COUNCILMEMBER DISTRICT 7
ANNALISA PEREA, COUNCILMEMBER DISTRICT I	MIKE KARBASSI, COUNCIL PRESIDENT DISTRICT 2
MIGUEL ARIAS, COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT DISTRICT 3	TYLER MAXWELL, COUNCILMEMBER DISTRICT 4
RRANDON VANG. COUNCII MEMBER DISTRICT S	NICK BICHARDSON, COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 6