## CITY OF FRESNO

## Office of Council President Annalisa Perea

- **WHEREAS,** Special Olympics Northern California employs the transformative power of sports to initiate change and foster joy, uniting individuals with and without intellectual disabilities to cultivate a more interconnected community; and
- WHEREAS, established in 1968 by Eunice Kennedy Shriver, Special Olympics California subsequently divided into two chapters Northern California and Southern California in 1995, with the aim of better addressing local needs; and
- WHEREAS, Special Olympics Northern California fosters an inclusive environment where individuals, irrespective of disabilities, can connect, lead healthy lives, achieve success, and derive joy from sports. They envision a community where unity and respect thrive through sports, celebrating the unique talents of all individuals, regardless of intellectual abilities; and
- WHEREAS, the Special Olympics Northern California community boasts significant participation figures, including 23,542 Total Athletes, 31,844 Total Athletes & Unified Partners, 334 Total Competitions, and 21,070 Total Volunteers; and
- WHEREAS, beyond sports, Special Olympics Northern California empowers athletes through health screenings, education, school partnerships, and leadership programs. Their reach spans 40+ counties in Northern California, benefiting thousands. Special Olympics Northern California challenges stereotypes and strives for inclusive opportunities for all to thrive.
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that we, Council President Annalisa Perea, Mayor Jerry P. Dyer, and Fresno City Council do hereby proclaim March 21<sup>st</sup>, 2024, to be:

## "Special Olympics Northern California Day"

in the City of Fresno.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the seal of the City of Fresno, California, on this 21<sup>st</sup> day of March 2024.

JERRY P. DYER, Honorable Mayor	ANNALISA PEREA, Council President District 1
MIKE KARBASSI, Council Vice President District 2	MIGUEL ARIAS, Councilmember District 3
TYLER MAXWELL, Councilmember District 4	LUIS CHAVEZ, Councilmember District 5
GARRY BREDEFELD, Councilmember District 6	NELSON ESPARZA, Councilmember District 7