CITY OF FRESNO

Office of Council President Annalisa Perea

- WHEREAS, the Central Valley Fuego, also known as Fresno Fuego, has ignited the passion of our community since its inception in 2002, captivating soccer enthusiasts and fostering a vibrant sports culture in Central California; and
- WHEREAS, the Central Valley Fuego has left an indelible mark on the soccer landscape of Fresno, California (Fresno) participating now in USL League One, the third tier of professional men's soccer sanctioned by the United States Soccer Federation, and displaying remarkable dedication and sportsmanship throughout its history; and
- WHEREAS, their commitment to excellence and community engagement has been exemplary, demonstrated by their consistent on-field performance and extensive efforts to promote youth development and soccer programs throughout Fresno; and
- WHEREAS, the leadership of coaches like Jaime Ramirez, Scott Alcorn, Sean Lanigan, and Brian Zwaschka, alongside the dedication of past and present players, has been instrumental in shaping the success and legacy of the Central Valley Fuego, earning numerous divisional titles and championships over the years; and
- WHEREAS, the Central Valley Fuego's presence at various stadiums across Fresno, including Chukchansi Park, San Joaquin Memorial High School, Fresno Pacific University, Fresno State Soccer Stadium, and others, provides fans with unforgettable experiences and emphasizes the significance of sports venues in our community.
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that we, Council President Annalisa Perea, Mayor Jerry Dyer and the Fresno City Council do hereby recognize Central Valley Fuego's profound impact on our community, its rich sporting legacy, and its unwavering commitment to excellence both on and off the field and hereby proclaim Thursday, April 18th, 2024, to be:

"Central Valley Fuego Day"

in the City of Fresno.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the seal of the City of Fresno, California, on this 18th day of April 2024.

JERRY P. DYER, Honorable Mayor	ANNALISA PEREA, Council President District 1
MIKE KARBASSI, Council Vice President District 2	MIGUEL ARIAS, Councilmember District 3
TYLER MAXWELL, Councilmember District 4	LUIS CHAVEZ, Councilmember District 5
GARRY BREDEFELD, Councilmember District 6	NELSON ESPARZA, Councilmember District 7