CITY OF FRESNO

Office of Councilmember Esmeralda Soria

Is hereby presented to the:

League of Women Voters of Fresno

- WHEREAS, Women's Equality Day was created in 1971 by Congress to celebrate the passage of the Nineteenth Amendment in the U.S. Constitution in 1920 that granted women the right to vote. This year commemorates the 99th anniversary of the beginning of numerous victories for women's equality. On this day we recognize the women who fearlessly fought for suffrage and sparked a movement to advance equal rights; and
- WHEREAS, Since then, women have achieved a historically higher voter turnout rate than men, and in 2018 55% of women eligible to vote cast ballots in the midterm election, a record high compared to 51% of men; and
- WHEREAS, As a result of securing the right to vote and hold office, there have been notable gains in the representation of women in government. As of 2019 there are 25 women seated in the U.S. Senate, 102 women in the House of Representatives, 127 women in Congress, and several women currently running for president; and
- WHEREAS, The City of Fresno recognizes and commends the countless women who have served as elected officials at city, state, and federal levels, and made contributions significant to laws and policies that further equality; and
- **WHEREAS,** Today we honor the women who fought resiliently for the right to vote in the face of adversity and the women like those members of the League of Women Voters of Fresno, who continue to lead the way in promoting gender equality.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the City of Fresno Mayor and City Council does hereby proclaim August 22nd, 2019 to be:

"Women's Equality Day"

in the City of Fresno

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the seal of the City of Fresno, California, this 22rd day of August 2019.

PAUL CAPRIOGLIO Council President, District 4	MIGUEL ARIAS, Council Vice-President, District
ESMERALDA SORIA, Councilmember, District 1	MIKE KARBASSI, Councilmember, District 2
LUIS CHAVEZ, Councilmember, District 5	GARRY BREDEFELD, Councilmember, District 6
NELSON ESPARZA, Councilmember, District 7	LEE BRAND, Honorable Mayor