CITY OF FRESNO

Office of Mayor Jerry Dyer



WHEREAS, Megan has published original poems in "The Comstock Review", "In the Grove", "Whiskey Island Magazine", "Quiet Diamonds", "Shakespeare's Monkey Revue", "Hot Metal Press", "The Atticus Review", and the "San Joaquin Review"; and

WHEREAS, in 2013, Megan's first full poetry collection, "Sightlines", was published by Tourane Poetry Press, followed in 2015 by the anthology "Shadowed, Unheard Voices", and in 2018 with her second poetry collection, "Vanishing Point", and the coming full collection, "Furrowing Time"; and

WHEREAS, Megan is actively involved in Fresno's poetry community through organizing poetry events, teaching poetry to children and students, as well as to marginalized communities; and

WHEREAS, with the publishing of her third book of poetry, Megan will be one of Fresno's few women poets with multiple published books, which speaks to her constant and committed love of poetry; and

WHEREAS, since 2012, she has worked on the Respite by the River annual performance series, a more than two-decade long annual project of the San Joaquin River Parkway and Trust, which is the only major reading event in our area that is free to the public; and

WHEREAS, the City of Fresno recognizes not just Megan Bohigian's accomplishments and considerable talents as a poet, but also her commitment to its quality of life through the arts community and through her work in our civic and educational realms; and

WHEREAS, it is the City of Fresno's custom that the Mayor officially appoint the City's poet laureate, which this term is Megan Bohigian.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that we, Mayor Jerry Dyer and Members of the Fresno City Council hereby proclaim Thursday, April 22, 2021, to be:

"Fresno Poet Laureate Megan Bohigian Day"

In the City of Fresno.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto set our hands and affixed the seal of the City of Fresno, California, this 22nd day of April 2021.

JERRY DYER, Honorable Mayor

LUIS CHAVEZ, Council President

ESMERALDA SORIA, Councilmember District 1

LOIS CHAVEZ, Coulen Tresident

SORIA, Councilmember District 1

MIGUEL ARIAS, Councilmember District 3

MIKE KARBASSI, Councilmember District 2

TYLER MAXWELL, Councilmember District 4

GARRY BREDEFELD, Councilmember District 6

NELSON ESPARZA, Council Vice President