

City of Fresno Women's Commission Minutes Thursday, March 9, 2023, at 8:00 AM Fresno City Hall - Meeting Room A / Virtual

I. Call to Order:

a. Chair Leonela A. Harari (D5) calls the meeting to order at 8:09 AM.

II. Roll Call:

- D1 Vice Chair Laura E. Ward (Present)
- D2 Vacant
- D3 Commissioner Guadalupe Cazarez (Present)
- D4 Vacant
- D5 Chair Leonela A. Harari (Present)
- D6 Commissioner Stefanie M. Diaz (Present)
- D7 Commissioner Aida S. Macedo (Present)

III. Approval of Agenda:

IV. Approval of Minutes - February 1, 2023, & February 16, 2023

 Vice Chair Laura Ward motioned for the agenda's approval and minutes from the Women's Commission meeting on February 1, 2023, and February 16, 2023.
Commissioner Guadalupe Cazarez seconded the motion. The motion passes unanimously.

V. Discussion and Approval of Scholarship Application

- a. Discussion and opinions on the application process.
 - i. Chair Harari and Commissioner Diaz hope the spreadsheet will be easier to access for the following scholarship application. Stephanie and Leonela did not like the spreadsheet for next time.
 - ii. That adds to the scholarship to get to know more about the applicants to help in the process of choosing awardees. Like how the money will assist them in seeking a higher education or background on applicants.
 - iii. Vice Chair Ward reminds commissioners to pick the top ten applicants from their divided piles.
 - iv. Commissioner Diaz mentions the Fresno County Women's Commission's support in giving out more scholarships. Due to the resignation of County

CITY OF FRESNO WOMEN'S COMMISSION

Commission Auston-Tibbets from the City of Fresno Commission, the commissioner was recommended to focus on the 17 scholarships they originally planned to give out.

- b. Discussion on the applicants
 - i. High School Applicants
 - 1. Commissioner Diaz recommends Tantum Tuck
 - 2. Commissioner Cazarez recommends Mckenzy Yang and Jennifer Gonzales
 - Commissioner Macedo recommends that former Commissioner Auston-Tibbets's recommendation of Anna Hun and Judith Flores Mora be considered for the scholarship.
 - ii. Two-year College Applicants
 - 1. Vice Chair Ward recommends Amarisa Gonzalez and Florencio Hernandez Rangel
 - 2. Commissioner Cazarez recommends Yexel Paneloza Vazquez
 - 3. Commissioner Macedo recommends Iris Cruz Rivas
 - 4. Commissioner Diaz recommends Tao Xiong or Mila Vang
 - 5. Commissioner Cazarez recommends Tracy Vang
 - a. The commission decided between the 7 recommendations on Amarisa Gonzalez, Florencio Hernandez Rangel, Yexel Paneloza Vazquez, Iris Cruz Rivas, and Tracy Yang.
 - iii. Four-year College Applicants
 - 1. Vice Chair Ward recommends Valerie Low
 - 2. Commissioner Macedo recommends Maria Fernanda Angulo Meza
 - 3. Commissioner Cazarez Jennifer Yang
 - Commissioner Diaz recommends that former Commissioner Auston-Tibbets's recommendation of Jessica Arreola & Omarshanae Muhammad be considered for the scholarship.
 - iv. Graduate School Applicants
 - 1. Chair Harari recommends Cindy Arredondo
 - 2. Commissioner Macedo recommends Marina Castro



- 3. Commissioner Cazarez recommends Maria Saavedra
 - The commission decided between the 3 recommendations, and the commission decided on Cindy Arredondo and Maria Saavedra.
- c. Approval of Applicants
 - i. Vice Chair Ward motioned to approve the chosen (17) scholarship applicants, and Commissioner Cazarez seconded the motion. The motion passes unanimously.
 - ii. The (17) Scholarship applicants:
 - 1. High School Awardees: Tantum Tuck, Mckenzy Yang, Jennifer Gonzales, Anna Hun, and Judith -
 - 2. Two-year College Awardees: Amarisa Gonzalez, Florencio Hernandez Rangel, Yexel Paneloza Vazquez, Iris Cruz Rivas, and Tracy Yang
 - 3. Four-year College Awardees: Valerie Low, Maria Fernanda Angulo Meza, Jennifer Yang, Jessica Arreola, and Omarshanae Muhammad
 - 4. Graduate School Awardees: Cindy Arredondo and Maria Saavedra

VIII. Public Comment: 8:58 AM

a. One member of the Public spoke, Lourdes Medina

IX. Meeting adjourned: 9:07 AM

a. Commissioner Cazarez motioned to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Macedo seconded the motion. The motion passes unanimously. The meeting ended at 9:07 AM.