City of Fresno Youth Commission Meeting Minutes – Final

Location: Fresno City Hall, 2600 Fresno St., Room 2165-A

Commissioners:

Nina Narahari*, Chair Council District 2 Matthew Saavedra*, 1st Vice Chair, Council District 6 Jovan Mendez*, 2nd Vice Chair, Council District 3 Gabriel Murillo*, Sergeant of Arms, Council District 7 Chandler Baladjanian, Secretary, Council District 2 (Alternate) Neng Thao*, Mayor's Office Jason Phillips, Mayor's Office (Alternate) Diana Gallardo*, Council District 1 Chance Lau, Council District 1 (Alternate) Ivette Marquez, Council District 3 (Alternate) Marissa Vang*, Council District 4 Lady Abangan, Council District 4 (Alternate) Yvette Flores*, Council District 5 Adriana Reyes, Council District 5 (Alternate) Brianna Stanley, Council District 6 (Alternate) Miranda Lara, Council District 7 (Alternate)

An asterisk * denotes a commissioner that has voting rights.

The Fresno Youth Commission met in regular session in Room 2165-A at Fresno City Hall (2600 Fresno St.), on 3/14/17. The Meeting was called to order at 5:40 P.M.

1st Vice Chair Matthew Saavedra, Council District 6

ROLL CALL

Present: Chair Nina Narahari, Council District 2

2nd Vice Chair Jovan Mendez, Council District 3
Sergeant of Arms Gabriel Murillo, Council District 7
Secretary Chandler Baladjanian, Council District 2
Commissioner Neng Thao, Mayor's Office
Commissioner Jason Phillips, Mayor's Office
Commissioner Diana Gallardo, Council District 1
Commissioner Chance Lau, Council District 1
Commissioner Ivette Marquez, Council District 3
Commissioner Marissa Vang, Council District 4
Commissioner Lady Abangan, Council District 4
Commissioner Yvette Flores, Council District 5
Commissioner Adriana Reyes, Council District 5
Commissioner Brianna Stanley, Council District 6
Commissioner Miranda Lara, Council District 7

APROVAL OF AGENDA

There were no changes made to the agenda. On motion of Sgt. of Arms Murillo, seconded by Commissioner Thao, that the Fresno Youth Commission 3/14/17 Agenda be approved - the motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Yvette Flores, Diana Gallardo, Nina Narahari, Jovan Mendez, Gabriel Murillo,

Matthew Saavedra, Neng Thao, Marissa Vang

Noes: None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM FEBRUARY 2017

The minutes from February 2017 were not presented.

CITY PRESENTATION - PARCS DEPARTMENT

Assistant Director of PARCS, Kristina Chamberlin, and Manager Shaun Schaefer presented in regards to the Parks and Recreation Department (PARCS) and how the department and its programs serve the youth of the City of Fresno.

EDISON TEEN SUMMIT

Sgt. of Arms Murillo said that two sessions were scheduled. Presenters were selected: 2nd Vice Chair Mendez, Sgt. of Arms Murillo and Commissioner Vang. Commissioners for the Focus Groups were selected: Chair Narahari, Commissioner Thao and potentially Commissioner Phillips. Commissioners attending include Diana Gallardo and potentially Brianna Stanley.

YOUTH COMMISSION BUDGET RECOMMENDATION PREPARTION

An ad-hoc committee was created to determine the details of the Youth Commission's presentation to City Council on April 6, 2017. Members include: Commissioners Yvette Flores, Neng Thao, Chair Narahari, and 2nd Vice Chair Mendez.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No member of the public offered public comment.

Commissioner Ivette Marquez stated that she would be resigning from the Youth Commission due to family issues.

TABLE REMAINING AGENDA ITEMS/DISCUSSIONS

Due to time constraints a motion was made by Commissioner Vang, seconded by Commission Thao to table the remaining items on the agenda, approve the ad-hoc committee and adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Yvette Flores, Diana Gallardo, Nina Narahari, Jovan Mendez, Gabriel Murillo,

Matthew Saavedra, Neng Thao, Marissa Vang

Noes: None

The meeting was adjourned at 7:40 P.M.