

City of Fresno

2600 Fresno Street Fresno, CA 93721 www.fresno.gov

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: ID 23-495 Version: 1 Name:

Type:Action ItemStatus:PassedFile created:3/16/2023In control:City CouncilOn agenda:3/30/2023Final action:3/30/2023

Title: Approve the appointments of Dr. Honora Chapman, Brynn Saito, Jessica Giffen, Heather Kuyper-

McKeithen, Bryan Harley, and the reappointment of Megan Bohigian to the Fresno Poet Laureate Selection Committee for terms ending on December 31, 2024. Approve the appointment of Carlota

Kincaid to the Disability Advisory Commission for a term ending on June 30, 2024.

Sponsors: Office of Mayor & City Manager

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Bohigian Reappointment Package, 2. Kincaid Application Packet_Redacted, 3. Harley Appointment

Packet, 4. Kuyper-McKeithen Application Packet, 5. Giffen Appointment Packet, 6. Saito Application

Packet, 7. Chapman Appointment Packet

 Date
 Ver.
 Action By
 Action
 Result

 3/30/2023
 1
 City Council
 ADOPTED
 Pass

REPORT TO THE CITY COUNCIL

FROM: JERRY P. DYER, Mayor

Office of Mayor & City Manager

BY: MATTHEW GRUNDY, Deputy Mayor

Office of Mayor & City Manager

CHRIS MONTELONGO, Deputy Chief of Staff

Office of Mayor & City Manager

SUBJECT

Approve the appointments of Dr. Honora Chapman, Brynn Saito, Jessica Giffen, Heather Kuyper-McKeithen, Bryan Harley, and the reappointment of Megan Bohigian to the Fresno Poet Laureate Selection Committee for terms ending on December 31, 2024. Approve the appointment of Carlota Kincaid to the Disability Advisory Commission for a term ending on June 30, 2024.

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends approval.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The Poet Laureate Selection Committee has seven members appointed by the Mayor with expertise in the following categories: literary arts, education, or media. The Poet Laureate Selection

File #: ID 23-495, Version: 1

Committee is responsible for selecting the Honorary Poet Laureate. The Mayor's Office is providing the appointments of Dr. Honora Chapman (Literary Arts & Education), Brynn Saito (Literary Arts & Education), Jessica Giffen (Literary Arts & Education), Heather Kuyper-McKeithen (Literary Arts & Education), Bryan Harley (Media), and the reappointment of Megan Bohigian (Literary Arts) to the Poet Laureate Selection Committee.

The Disability Advisory Commission has seven commissioners with one vacancy. The Mayor's Office is providing the appointment of Carlota Kincaid (Resident of District 4) for consideration.

Attachments:

Chapman Appointment Package
Saito Appointment Package
Giffen Appointment Package
Kuyper-McKeithen Appointment Package
Harley Appointment Package
Bohigian Reappointment Package
Kincaid Appointment Package